Hi. My name is Lynn and I’m a forty-something, veteran home-school mom of 17 years, former Navy wife (RicDaddy retired), owner of an estate sale business, and general all around Renaissance woman…which is a nice way of saying I’ve probably got ADHD.

I’ve managed several blogs over the years; book blogs, religion blogs, raising-ankle-biter blogs, oh, and a political blog that actually still gets my attention because…well, I won’t go there. So, it just stands to reason that I’d start yet another one-sided conversation in the ether, right? Because that’s how I roll.

The impetus behind this blog is three fold: 1) My nest is emptying. This is huge for any woman, but it can be especially disorienting for a homeschool mom, like myself, who has spent every waking moment planning lessons and teaching said lessons, all under 24-hour scrutiny by the offspring. It’s great to have the pressure let up, but all that extra time…what’s a girl to do? Does this mean that it’s time for me to grow up, too?? Anyway, it has been on my heart to write a book about this transition, but, honestly, writer’s block is for real. I’ve been waiting for God to give me the green light. This blog is, hopefully, my warm up.

2) I have loved my full-time job as a stay-at-home mom. And, truth be told, I’m sad the heyday season of homemaking is coming to an end. And, if I may feebly toot my own horn, I’m not too bad at it. I mean, from a Cheaper by the Dozen, time management, multi-task perspective I’m pretty adept. The jury is still out on the parenting skills, but I CAN do about 18 things at once with some pretty decent results. No credit to me. I am my mother’s daughter. This blog is my way of sharing things I’ve employed, learned, and am still discovering when it comes to running a home. Again, I’m no expert, I’ve just really enjoyed the whole gig.

3) I have decided to retire from my 3-year long quilting sabbatical. That said, I’ve been greatly inspired by all the U.N.B.E.L.I.E.V.A.B.L.E quilt blogs out there. Seriously, tutorials, patterns, and, well…just WOW. I am planning to use this blog to post my projects and what I’m learning. Oh, and just so we are clear, the chances of there EVER being a quilting tutorial done by moi on this blog are nil, nada, nyet. But I will unabashedly link to several.

I named this blog Graceful Exit because that’s what I’m trying to do and what I’m trying to teach my boys to do – exit gracefully. Not them entirely out of my life and me entirely out of theirs, but, rather, out of center stage. I want my sons to leave our home gracefully with love, respect, and gratitude. Likewise, I want to leave my primary role of being command central and gracefully give them room to make their own decisions and write their own life story. Exiting with the heart connections still intact. It’s a dance that we are all in the process of learning. We step on each others’ toes fairly often because each of us wants to lead, but we  keep dancing.

And, for me, a Graceful Exit also means finding that fresh-eyed girl inside that got put on the back burner for so long. I don’t mean this in a negative way. Parenting is about sacrifice, and I’d gladly make each and every one again. But for me, and many of my fellow emptying nesters, this is a bittersweet time of discovery. And I plan to quilt my way through it!

Ross Copperman’s song, Holding on and Letting Go says it best:

“It’s everything you wanted, it’s everything you don’t.

It’s one door swinging open and one door swinging closed.

Some prayers find an answer, some prayers never know

We’re holding on and letting go.”

So, in a nutshell, I hope that this blog will be an encouraging, thoughtful, and fun place to visit.
Let the quilting begin!
Happy day!

DDC29D5041FC0B40A374E20A7D9B9A54

