image002

I am so thankful to Sew Bittersweet Designs and Fiber of All Sorts for hosting A Lovely Year of Finishes.

My March finish is the infamous Happy Day Quilt

Meet Happy Day!

Like all proud moms, I will now barrage you with pictures of this quilt from inception (note that I did not say conception, because that would be weird.) to completion.

It all started with a couple Jelly Rolls and some fabric…er…I mean, some Jelly Roll fabrics.

imageimage

Moda’s Bobbins and Bits, to be exact.

Then some brain-wavin’ and strategizing.

The brainwave process calls for a total takeover of the dining room.

The brainwave process calls for a total takeover of the dining room.

Then some sashing.

imageimage

Then an inspection

This guy is hard to please.

This guy is hard to please.

And my little quilt top was done!

image

Now for some layering. This is not my favorite part. Historically, I’m pretty bad at it. But this time I had a plan.

A ping-pong table, masking tape, and spray adhesive. Call if overkill, but it a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do.

A ping-pong table, masking tape, and spray adhesive. Call if overkill, but a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do.

With each layer quite “adhered”, I was ready to try my hand at quilting this bad boy.

imageimage

I went for the full monty stippling technique. It’s quite forgiving, which is what I needed.

After sewing on the binding I knelt in prayer while it had its first washing. There was a lot of potential for those colors to run like the wind all over my pretty Kona White sashing. It was a solomn 35 minutes.

But, alas! My baby handled its first bath beautifully.

imageimage

Just look at that scrumptious Minky on the back. Wow! I need a grandkid to snuggle up and nap under this…

All joking aside, I’m in love with this quilt. Not just because I think its dang pretty, but because it is a beautiful bundle of motivation. And that’s just what I need as I start my April project.

Happy Day!

DDC29D5041FC0B40A374E20A7D9B9A54

