Tags

,

imageI’m big into mythology. Not creepy into it like I read it every day and name my cat Atlas or Persephone.

Stash. The name is Stash.

Stash. The name is Stash.

But, you know, myths are just kinda cool. But some myths just need to be dispelled, busted, given the old what-for.

Here are some estate sale myths that qualify for the above treatment.

Myth 1:
“Gosh, I bet you make tons of money doing estate sales!”

Fact: Nope, not the case. There is money to be made, don’t get me wrong, but it’s not big money. In fact, I’m thinking of protesting to have my measly minimum wage bumped up to $15 an hour. But then I wouldn’t be able to afford myself and I’d have to charge even more for those vintage doilies. Dang economics!

Any estate sale worth its salt will have doilies.

Any estate sale worth its salt will have doilies.

Myth 2:
“Wow, you must get some cool free stuff.”

Fact: Again, nope. I do get cool stuff, but I pay for it. And because my first loyalty is to my client, I tend to overcharge myself. I recently paid way too much for this little baby at one of my estate sales.

This is beautiful, right? Solid cherry wood. Oh my.

I’m still not over how much I love this piece.

To which my husband exclaimed, “You paid what!? You could have bought it new for less than that!”

To which I replied, “All new furniture is veneer, glue, and particle board. (For the most part, it is.) It was a steal for the quality and size.” That, by the way, is my standard response and it’s almost always true.

Sure, I could cut myself some deals, but I’m one of those narcissists who thinks the whole world is watching her, so I err on the side of pathologically honest. (Besides, God does see me, and His opinion does matter, so, there is that…) So, no, I don’t wait for my clients to drive down the street and then proceed to load up the back of my car. I’m pretty sure that’s called looting.

Myth 3:
“It’s cool to haggle at estate sales.”

Don't be that guy.

Don’t be that guy.

Fact: No, it really isn’t. Unless the sale is south of the boarder somewhere, haggling is very uncool and you run the risk of getting put on the estate sale community’s equivalent of the milk carton. If haggling was expected it would be called a garage sale and a six-year-old selling lemonade would be taking your money. We’re a bit more upscale than that.

A bit.

And if you simply cannot help yourself, (and, really, let’s be honest, who can?) save the haggling for the last day of the sale. By then we’re fried more open to people offering up their suggested selling prices.

Myth 4:
“I feel bad going to estate sales and pawing through a deceased person’s things.”

Fact: OK, this might be more sentiment than myth, but let me put your mind at ease. First of all, the intrusive pawing has already been done. By me. So let yourself off the hook and enjoy. Secondly, the family, in many cases (especially these days) probably needs the money to defray medical, burial, or legal costs. Don’t feel bad buying their Auntie’s stuff. They want you to.

There! Now you can walk into an estate sale with some savvy and a clean conscience.

Enjoy!

DDC29D5041FC0B40A374E20A7D9B9A54

