Tags

, ,

Today was kitchen day at the estate house. Kitchen day is my favorite because I’m somewhat of a kitchen junkie. Retro kitchen junkie, to be exact. Let’s face it, the 50’s, 60s, and 70s were the hey days for kitchens. They were streamlined, rather fuss-free, and practical. Oh so practical.

And they had Pyrex, the epitome of practical.

 Oh, my giddy aunt. I love this stuff.Oh, my giddy aunt.

I’m totally planning on hoarding this stuff.

And, because God loves me like He loves the Yankees, I have access to loads of Pyrex at my estate houses. There really isn’t much in life more fun than snapping on the ol’ latex gloves and rummaging through kitchen cabinets searching for Pyrex. (I say fun, you say sad, tragic, pathetic…just keep it to yourselves.)

My love for extracting Pyrex from the bowels of retired kitchens started with a house we did in Stillwater, Oklahoma. The whole house was a treasure trove from post-Civil war to mid-century, but, like diamonds in the rough, the Pyrex caught my fancy.

From the attic to kitchen cupboards and even in bathroom cabinets.

From the attic to kitchen cupboards and even in bathroom cabinets. My heart was suddenly full.

And that’s where my obsession healthy respect for Pyrex was birthed.

Since I’m new to collecting Pyrex and I can’t buy every piece at my estates sales (gotta leave something for the customers), my collection is rather inglorious and miniscule…

Baby steps toward Pyrex greatness.

Baby steps toward Pyrex greatness.

…compared to some.

Jealousy doesn't even begin to describe...

Jealousy doesn’t even begin to describe…

But I know that through hard work (seriously, those latex gloves are nes/uh/sair/EE) and determination I, too, can have a wall of colorful beauties that I may or may not ever use to actually prepare meals for my family. I mean, I collect stamps (yes, I really do) but that doesn’t mean I’m mailing letters all the time (or ever).

**Legal disclaimer/conscience clearer: Please note that from here on the beautiful Pyrex babies will not be my own but, rather, pics pilfered from the web. However, I love them like they are my own. And that’s gotta count for somethin’ (as Pat Monahan from Train would say.)

So why Pyrex? What’s so special?

Well, for starters, it’s just plain cute.

The most sought-after colors.

The most sought-after colors.

And colorful.

Pretty sure this is what inspired the making of Skittles.

Pretty sure this is what inspired the making of Skittles.

And Pyrex really is practical. Just look at these bowls.

Note the handles that double as pour spouts. Practical.

Note the handles that double as pour spouts. See? Practical.

And there are bowls sans handles.

Look ma! No handles!

Look ma! No handles!

And there are generously-sized casserole dishes of either oval or rectangular shape.

My mom had mushroom wallpaper in our kitchen to match this dish. No lie.

My mom had mushroom wallpaper in our kitchen to match this dish. No lie.

I'm suddenly feeling cakes and brownies.

I’m suddenly feeling cakes and brownies.

And check out these smaller ones for just two people or leftovers. These colorful marvels are great for microwaving.

Dress up those leftovers.

Dress up those leftovers.

And these mini dishes?? They are darling, right?

I use this size for butter.

I use these tiny square ones for butter.

I haven't figured out a use for this size, yet.

I haven’t figured out a use for this size, yet.

Pyrex just makes the kitchen fun once again.

Like my husband says, you enjoy your job more if you have the right equipment. I couldn't agree more.

Like my husband says, you enjoy your job more if you have the right equipment. I couldn’t agree more.

Bottom line: If it works for Joan…

Pyrex was so practical you could be stunning in the kitchen. Really.

Pyrex is so user-friendly you, too, can be stunning in the kitchen. Really.

…it works for me!

DDC29D5041FC0B40A374E20A7D9B9A54

